top of page

2019-20 Junior Athletics prize winners announced

Due to COVID-19 restrictions we have not been able to hold our usual end of athletics season prize giving, but as the results have been calculated we'd like to take the opportunity now to share them.

But first, a few words from our President, Natasha Muschamp:

The 2019/20 Season was fantastic with many new families joining us and many more returning.

It is such a privilege to watch our athletes grow over the years and I hope all of our families will return when we can again be together. Thank you for sharing your families with us.

I would like to thank the committee for their continued hard work and support of the club. Dion, Julie, Kate, Lorraine, Nick, Nigel, Pete and Selena you guys are such a great bunch of people to work with and hang out with. I really appreciate your good humour, pragmatism and friendliness.

I would like to acknowledge Nigel Mather and his wife Leah for the years of work they have put into the club. Nigel and Leah have been running the Halberg Squad this season and they have done a great job of keeping that a positive and busy experience for our little athletes. We will miss you both and your lovely boys. Nigel has been a committee member for five years and the race director of our Owai 5 race for the last three. Thank you Nigel for your calm efficiency and enthusiasm. We wish you well in your move to Mangawhai. And we are going to need a new leader or leaders for the Halberg squad (2-6 year olds) next season. Please contact us if you are keen to help - we provide support and will show you how to do it, all it requires is about 30 mins extra on a Wednesday night.

Thank you to our coaches who rock up each week ready with a plan to nurture and develop our athletes. Thank you to Murray, Bazyl and Hamish for your professionalism and for your hard work in supporting our athletes. Thank you to Julie, Kate and Lorraine for all of their energy and time and care. Thank you to the parents who regularly turn up to help we couldn’t do it without you. And thank you to those who occasionally stepped up too.  

Thank you to Blair (on the grill) and Sarah (who managed our clubroom enquiries and uniforms) for your organisation and patience.

Well done to our energetic and talented and kind athletes who have so much fun and make it so much fun for all the grown ups. You would normally all get participation certificates. I am sorry that we can’t give those to you today. We'll email certificates soon, and hope to be able to present cups in person at a pre-season prize giving and registration on the last Wednesday of term three. 


Special Awards

Most improved

Jeremy Douglas - For being enthusiastic and motivated and showing great improvement this year in his athletic abilities and focus.


Mietta Conway - For participating to a high standard throughout the season with a positive and friendly attitude.


Lily Aspden - For her positive attitude and always putting in the effort to do consistently well. 

Volunteer of the Year

It is always tough to decide on the recipient of this award with so many amazing and hard working supporters of the club. I could name many here. People like Kerry Conway who come every week year round and are positive and  helpful and generally awesome. But this year the recipient is Murray Cumberpatch.

Murray has had a long association with the club and in recent years has been the leader and coach of our senior Lydiard squad and competition squad. Most of our volunteers are either athletes themselves or are the parents of athletes. Murray is neither of these he just he works tirelessly and selflessly coaching our wonderful athletes. He's always there at the track ready to give the athletes tips and to encourage them by getting involved in the races too. He's highly respected by the group and we appreciate all the time he's put in to training them. He's very welcoming to new people and offers help to anyone, no matter their sport or skill level. All of the senior Lydiard squad is grateful for his effort and care and we as a club are equally appreciative and hope that this acknowledgement goes some way to showing our thanks.

Squad awards

Age group winners are those athletes who earned the most points in their age group (male and female) at our club champs events.

Halberg Squad Awards

3 year olds

Harper Logan

Rowan Wall Shaw

4 year olds

Violet Pitt

Elijah Tuialii

5 year olds

Freya Wall Shaw

Blake Jones

6 year olds

Lyla Skinner & Violet Al-Durra

Keli Leupolu

Snell Squad Awards

7 year olds

Finlay Muschamp Aila Tuialii

8 year olds

Navala Leupolu Mia Sanday

9 year olds

Jett Nash Ella Maddox

Lydiard Squad Awards

Full results including times, distances and event placings are available here.

Following are the age group winners:

10 year olds

Peggy Taylor

Ben Aspden

11 year olds

Nina Chalmers

Seth Young

12 year olds

Sadie Cormack

Henry Hills

13 year olds

Sophia Urlich

14 year olds

Liam Webby

Senior Lydiard/competition

These awards are selected by coaches Murray Cumberpatch and Hamish Meacheam.

Female Winner

Selena Gee - great improvement setting new PB’s in 100 & 200 metres (now ranked 5th in her age group in Auckland).

Male Winner

Hudson Hutchinson - great improvement in 100m Competition & PB.

Para Athlete

Alyssa Baxter - For her excellent achievements and dedication and courage overcoming injury

Also noteworthy: Danielle McAndrew & Sophia Urlich - constantly improving and dedication to training & racing.

Well done to all our amazing athletes. Stay safe and we will see those of you who are into distance running as soon as the situation allows - we're busy planning for level 2 and hope to be able to offer some training then for those who are keen. The rest of you, we will see at the end of term three.

407 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


  • White Facebook Icon
  • Owairaka Athletics on YouTube
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Strava
bottom of page